Meat, fish and Eritrean

After a month spent in rural Kenya we’ve been enjoying some catch up eating: lots of cheese, sausages, bacon and trips around London to eat out.

I cannot recommend highly enough the fabulous @markymarket and his great service scouring the markets each week, offering his very worthwhile suggestions for purchase and delivery service. This week we’ve been scoffing wild boar and apple, and beef and Guinness sausages. Today I had a piece of his Hereford bavette for lunch and it was perfect – I love the flavour in this cut, and I didn’t find these steaks tough at all, rather I’d say they have wonderful texture (something of course lacking in tenderloin).

On my trot around town I stumbled on The Fish Shop on Kensington Church Street and was impressed by the variety of beautiful, albeit somewhat pricy, flat fish. I came away with the more budget conscious mackerel which couldn’t have been fresher and were bloody lovely roasted with a good splash of chardonnay, finished with butter, lemon juice and chervil.

After two years meaning to visit I finally got around to visiting Mosob in Westbourne Park, and can highly recommend it, particularly for its simply perfect shiro (chickpea flour sauce), the best version I have tasted outside of Ethiopia. My review is up on View London website.

This entry was posted in London. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

